top of page
  • Writer's pictureQuan Sheng

LCD Screen Project

Making a functioning LCD screen.


Previously in my blog, i wrote about LED light.

In this Blog, i will be making a circuit for a LCD screen.


LCD Outcome


I first have to understand the pinout for each pin. This is a LCD Screen. It has 4 different pins GND, VCC, SDA and SCL.


LCD Screen








GND -

Ground (0V) which connect to GND from the Pi Cobbler


VCC -

Supply voltage; 5V (4.7V – 5.3V)

VCC is the power input of a device which means that it will need to connect to the 5v pinout from the Pi Cobbler


SDA & SCL -

SDA and SCL are the data line where we can output our text on. Difference is SCL is the clock signal and SDA is data signal.




I plug each pin to its respective pi cobbler pin and managed to light up the LCD screen.

I wrote my program to run but it doesn't seemed to display any text. So i started by troubleshooting by using the i2cdetect command. The LCD screen is connected to the Pi.

After a while i realize that the contrast potentiometer is not set properly.



After tuning, the display finally shows up!



That's all folks for my LCD project, Stay tune for more upcoming project on my second week!


6 views

Comments


bottom of page